RSS Feed

~ Glory What? ~

Posted on

Before I moved in, M’s fridge looked like a typical bachelor fridge – beer, milk, cigars.

“I know how to order really well,” he told me.

He certainly does. Pizza Nova (his already established favourite) has made it onto our weekly rotation (“Pizza Sunday!”).  I love pizza. In fact, I’ve always regarded it as my favourite food. It’s a food that I can eat any time of the day or night, hot or cold, fresh or days old. And, for the same reason many guys like blow jobs: even when it’s bad, it’s still pretty damn good.

Getting tired of our usual – medium with extra cheese, pepperoni, sometimes pineapple – I decided we should have his and her pies. Mine, with lots of veggies, sun-dried tomatoes and feta, guarantees he’ll never reach for a slice, once his is done.

I’ve been challenged in my efforts to make tasty and healthy meals for us, and compiled a mental list of veggies he likes, so I could make a stir-fry. I finally had enough veggies to make one with tofu, green beans, carrots and baby bok choy (“baby bok choy, and I don’t care!” is now a favourite ditty of his). I threw in some broccoli for myself, because they’re easy to pick out. He wasn’t crazy about the tofu, but still had two helpings doused in soy sauce. He did try one piece of broccoli. And all was right in the world.

I started making my version of “Glory Bowl,” from a recipe I saw in Candian Living. My version is basically brown rice, marinated and fried tofu, sautéed kale, grated raw beets and carrots, pickled ginger, and a vinaigrette made of cider vinegar, Bragg’s soy, Dijon, honey, salt and pepper. I have to say, it’s freakin’ awesome. And it looks phenomenal – all red and green and orange. I made a big batch once and froze half before going on a business trip. Not only did M eat the batch in the fridge, he defrosted the other half and ate that too! “Ahhhh…” (angels singing).

M may not be a natural in the kitchen, but he has developed a small and consistent repertoire over the years – pancakes (Bisquick), french toast, hamburgers, and mac and cheese (Kraft Deluxe) with added Cheese Whiz for an extra cheesy zip.

Here’s his recipe for hamburgers:

M’s Burgers

1 package of ground beef

Couple dashes each of Tabasco Sauce, Soy Sauce, Worcestershire

1 squirt of Heinz 57

1 package of soft, white hamburger buns, the kind you could easily squeeze into a ball, should the mood strike

1 George Foreman Grill

Plug in grill. Spray with no-stick Pam. Remove plastic wrap from beef. Add Tabasco, Worcestershire and 57, while meat is still in Styrofoam tray. Allow to marinate for a few minutes. Form patties, place on grill, close lid and cook for about 5 minutes. Place patties in buns and serve with generous amounts of ketchup.

When he first made these for me, I was a tad horrified.

“Oh… you’re not going to mix it in a bowl?” I asked, eyeballing the 57 sauce.

“Why make more dirty dishes?” he countered, matter-of-factly.

Truth is the burgers were quite tasty – basic, uncomplicated, good. Kinda like him.

3 responses »

  1. Loving the blog B. My best friend Lorne prepares Kraft dinner with his ‘secret ingredient’… by adding cheddar cheese

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

